Photo

Photo

Books

Freedom's Mask

Frank Tollman has just woken up in the middle of a rice paddy. Under a blazing sun. Being poked by someone he does not know and who is speaking to him in a language he has never heard. The last thing he can remember is stopping for drinks and then stumbling to catch the Tokyo Metro home after another day of grinding numbers for a multinational. Life abroad was supposed to be so much more exciting. And then suddenly, in a most unwelcome way, it was.

In the tradition of Camus, Hesse, and Huxley, Freedom’s Mask is a breathtakingly fresh philosophical novel that follows its hero-anti-hero on a quest for knowledge and for self. As Frank struggles to make sense of the world he finds himself in, he is forced to face the difficulties of meaning, the purpose of choice, consent, and the vast puzzle of being. He must not only relearn how to live, but come to terms with what it is, or what it could be, to live well. With its unflinching look at identity, self-making, and the ceaseless struggle of life alone among so many others, Freedom’s Mask is the kind of book that haunts you long after you’ve put it down. Frank’s story is our story, and his questions might be our answers. Don’t miss your chance to ask them too.

Fall in with Frank on his/our journey today.

Buy the paperback or Kindle version from Amazon
Free author's version pdf (first chapter only)



Tomorrow, as the Crow Flies

Tomorrow, as the Crow Flies is a book of ideas. Written in the style of a blog, it covers such philosophical topics as the absence of a soul, issues of personal identity and community, core values for modern life, and the nature of truth. Personal, social, and political concerns are also discussed, with a unique form of government offered for consideration in the author’s “control socialism”. Each chapter consists of the recorded lectures of a wandering thinker, a present-day Zarathustra, and is followed by the comments and narratives of one of his disciples, along with an assortment of voices from those reading the content online. It will offend, entertain, uplift, and most of all challenge readers to look at themselves and their world in an entirely different way.

Take flight to begin seeing things differently today.

Buy the paperback or Kindle version from Amazon
Free author's version pdf (first two chapters only)



Randolph's One Bedroom

When winter stretches on for half the year and people are forced to spend entirely too much time indoors, strange things are bound to happen. Randolph’s city of Sornsville, and the local coffee shop he works at, are no exceptions. But through all the irate customers and cryogenically preserved mammals, the drinks that magically disappear just when their order has come up, and the simian clerks that know far too much for their own good, Randolph somehow manages to keep an even keel. Here are twenty linked stories, or twenty episodes if you will, about Randolph and the small, frozen, and thoroughly odd part of the world he inhabits.

Join Randolph on his commonly uncommon adventures today.

Buy the paperback or Kindle version from Amazon
Free author's version pdf (first two chapters only)



Green Skies (with artist Eric Uhlich)

Rampant climate change. Unchecked and self-serving authorities. Clinging to imported traditions. Thriving but hostile indigenous tribes. Racism. Starvation. Murder. It is Western Settlement, Greenland, late fifteenth century, and the Norse colony there is plagued by all these problems and many more. Green Skies tells their tale through the eyes of a young farmer named Bjorn Thorsson, a man whose efforts to eke out a living are mirrored countless times across his community. Season after season, from midnight sun to polar night, their hardships mount until the settlement’s very survival is in question. Will the Norse be able to limp their way through another harsh winter? Or will the Inuit finally push them over the brink? Will Bjorn be able to find peace in his eerily modern medieval world? Or will he succumb to the despair that haunts his neighbors and afflicts his nation? Green Skies is a story of the struggle we all face to survive in a changing world—physically, certainly, but much more so psychologically.

Slide into a Norse top and make your way to Greenland today.

Buy the paperback from Amazon
Free author's version pdf (first two chapters only)